Faculty / Staff

ICSE Directorate

Director    
Phil
Philip J. Smith
ICSE Director, Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-3129
Email: philip.smith@utah.edu
Research Interests
High performance computing for combustion simulations; coal combustion; Large Eddy Simulations; fire simulations; validation and uncertainty quantification; multi-physics and multi-scale modeling
Associate Director  
Eric Eddings
Eric Eddings
Associate Dean, Associate Director, Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-3931
Email: eric.eddings@utah.edu
Research Interests
Oxycoal combustion; bio-derived fuel production via pyrolysis; underground coal thermal treatment, pollutant formation and control from industrial processes
Faculty Contact  
Martin Berzins
Martin Berzins
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Computer Science
Phone: 801-585-1545
Email: mb@sci.utah.edu
Research Interests
Parallel scientific computation; adaptive numerical methods; particle methods for solid mechanics; software and runtime systems for extreme scale parallel computation; graph-based big data algorithms and software; multi-scale modeling for electrochemical devices.
Lauren Birgenheier
Lauren Birgenheier
Assistant Professor
Affiliate Department:
Geology and Geophysics
Phone: 801-585-3158
Email: lauren.birgenheier@utah.edu
Research Interests
Sedimentology and stratigraphy; sequence stratigraphy; geochemistry; hydrocarbon/petroleum geology; reservoir characterization; unconventional resources; paleoclimate
Milind D. Deo
Milind D. Deo
Chair, and Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-9291
Email: milind.deo@utah.edu
Research Interests
Modeling and experimental studies on oil from oil sands, oil pipeline flow assurance; reservoir simulation and analyses; natural gas; hydrocarbon fuels; energy production; carbon dioxide control technologies
Thomas H. Fletcher
Thomas H. Fletcher
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Brigham Young University, Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-422-6236
Email: tom_fletcher@byu.edu
Research Interests
Pyrolysis and combustion of coal and biomass; NOx formation from low-grade fuels; coal gasification; oil shale chemistry; synfuels in gas turbines; fundamentals of wild land fire ignition; soot formation from aromatic compounds
Andrew R. Fry
Andrew R. Fry
Research Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-238-6661
Email: andrew.fry@utah.edu
Research Interests
Combustion and gasification; oxy-coal combustion and burner design; utility boiler operation; mineral matter deposition in solid fuel combustion and gasification systems; mercury speciation and removal from coal flue gas
Charles “Chuck” Hansen
Charles “Chuck” Hansen
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Computer Science
Phone: 801-581-3154
Email: hansen@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
Large-scale scientific visualization; Pprallel computer graphics algorithms and interactive techniques
Todd B. Harman
Todd B. Harman
Research Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
Computer Science
Phone: 801-585-5145
Email: t.harman@utah.edu
Research Interests
Modeling thermal radiation with Reverse Monte Carlo Ray Tracing; fluid structure interaction; computational fluid dynamics; adaptive mesh refinement; solving difficult engineering and scientific problems on large computing platforms
Derek Harris
Derek Harris
Research Associate
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-5609
Email: derkhar@gmail.com
Research Interests
Radiative transport; multi-phase turbulent flows; sub-grid mixing models; numerical methods; calcium carbonate chemistry and precipitation kinetics; scientific computing and development
Michal Hradisky
Michal Hradisky
Research Associate
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1240
Email: michal.hradisky@utah.edu
Research Interests
High performance computing simulations; Large Eddy Simulation; combustion simulations of flares, furnaces, and boilers; oil shale and oil sands modeling; coal combustion; multi-physics/multi-scale modeling
Alan P. Humphrey
Alan P. Humphrey
Software Developer
Affiliate Department:
Scientific Computation and Imaging Institute
Phone: 801-585-5090
Email: ahumphrey@sci.utah.edu
Research Interests
Software
Benjamin Isaac
Benjamin Isaac
Research Associate
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1691
Email: Bisaac2@gmail.com
Research Interests
Industrial coal simulations; Large Eddy Simulation; reduced-order combustion modeling; validation and uncertainty quantification; multi-phase reaction systems
Isabel Cristina Jaramillo
Isabel Cristina Jaramillo
Research Associate
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-581-6915
Email: cristina.jaramillo@utah.edu
Research Interests
Air quality
Kerry E. Kelly
Kerry E. Kelly
Assistant Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-587-7601
Email: kelly@eng.utah.edu
Research Interests
Live-cycle evaluation of emerging energy technologies; characterization of aerosol emissions from combustion sources; health effects of combustion aerosols; understanding the sources of regional air quality challenges
JoAnn S. Lighty
JoAnn S. Lighty
NSF Division Director, Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-581-5763
Email: jlighty@utah.edu
Research Interests
Ultra-fine/fine particulate formation, including soot formation and oxidation; chemical looping process modeling; ambient PM source attribution; fate of metals during combustion and gasification
Jules Jaye Magda
Jules Jaye Magda
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-581-7536
Email: jj.magda@utahedu
Research Interests
Rheology; oil pipeline flow assurance; synthesis of stimuli-responsive polymer hydrogels for use in sensors; implantable glucose sensors; hyaluronic acid derivatives for biomedical applications; boron neutron cancer therapy
Matthew Might
Matthew Might
Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
Computer Science
Phone: 801-585-0122
Email: might@cs.utah.edu
Research Interests
Domain specific languages (embedded and stand alone) for improving the performance, parallelism, robustness, correctness, maintainability and portability of scientific computing codebases
Valerio Pascucci
Valerio Pascucci
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Computer Science
Phone: 801-587-9885
Email: pascucci@sci.utah.edu
Research Interests
Big Data management and analytics; progressive multi-resolution techniques in scientific visualization; discrete topography; computer graphics; geometric compression, computational geometry, geometric programming and solid modeling
David W. Pershing
David W. Pershing
President, Distinguished Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-581-5701
Email: president@utah.edu
Research Interests
Coal combustion
Ignacio Preciado
Ignacio Preciado
Research Associate
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-5235
Email: ignacio.preciado@utah.edu
Research Interests
Combustion diagnostics
Terry A. Ring
Terry A. Ring
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-581-6915
Email: ring@eng.utah.edu
Research Interests
Colloidal particle processing, precipitation, crystallization inhibition; thin film sensors; laser diagnostics and ceramics processing
John Ruple
John Ruple
Research Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
College of Law
Phone: 801-581-6545
Email: john.ruple@law.utah.edu
Research Interests
Public land and water resource management; improving management efficiency and collaborative resource management between federal and state governments; NEPA efficacy; water resource allocation
Tony Saad
Tony Saad
Research Associate, Senior Computational Scientist
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-0344
Email: tony.saad@utah.edu
Research Interests
Developing advanced simulation tools and numerical methods for exascale reacting flow simulations on hybrid parallel architectures; pressure-projection methods; low-Mach number flows, population balances; perturbation methods
Allen Sanderson
Allen Sanderson
Research Scientist
Affiliate Department:
Scientific Computation and Imaging Institute
Phone: 801-585-0769
Email: allen@sci.utah.edu
Research Interests
Message Passing Interface (MPI); GPU computing (CUDA); parallel programming models; hybrid programming; large-scale High Performance Computing (HPC); Emerging and future HPC architectures; Eclipse plugin programming
John A. Schmidt
John A. Schmidt
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Affiliate Department:
Scientific Computation and Imaging Institute
Phone: 801-587-7878
Email: john.schmidt@utah.edu
Research Interests
Mesh generation; parallel computing; scientific computing
GeoffSilcox2
Geoffrey Silcox
Professor (Lecturer)
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-581-8820
Email: geoff@che.utah.edu
Research Interests
Process modeling; mercury emissions and control; combustion; air quality and air pollution
SeanSmith
Sean T. Smith
Research Assistant Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1002
Email: sean.t.smith@utah.edu
Research Interests
Modeling, simulation and validation of physical processes of reaction engineering; population balances in computational fluid dynamics; mixing for turbulence/chemistry interactions
Jennifer C. Spinti
Jennifer C. Spinti
Research Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1241
Email: jennifer.spinti@utah.edu
Research Interests
High performance computing in engineering; simulation of reacting flows; liquid and gaseous fuels from oil shale/sands
John Davison De St Germain
John Davison De St Germain
Chief Software Engineer
Affiliate Department:
Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute
Phone: 801-581-4078
Email: dav@sci.utah.edu
Research Interests
Software
James C. Sutherland
James C. Sutherland
Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1246
Email: james.sutherland@utah.edu
Research Interests
Nexus of turbulent reacting flow; numerical analysis and high-performance computing, with applications in Large Eddy Simulation; Direct Numerical Simulation and reduced order modeling of turbulent combusting flows
Jeremy N. Thornock
Jeremy N. Thornock
Research Assistant Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1247
Email: Jeremy.thornock@utah.edu
Research Interests
Computational framework for solving coupled mass, momentum and energy conservation equations; Large Eddy Simulation of coal particle behavior in combustion systems
Jost O. L. Wendt
Jost O. L. Wendt
Presidential Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-1025
Email: jost.wendt@utah.edu
Research Interests
Reduction of emissions from combustion processes in oxy-coal combustion and mercury sequestration technologies
kevin-j-whitty2
Kevin J. Whitty
Associate Professor
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering
Phone: 801-585-9388
Email: kevin.whitty@utah.edu
Research Interests
CO2 neutral/CO2 negative power production; chemical looping combustion; gasification of biomass, waste, coal and petcoke; synthesis gas cleaning; gas to liquids processes; sensors for harsh environments
Yuxin “Martin” Wu
Yuxin “Martin” Wu
Research Associate
Affiliate Department:
Chemical Engineering, Tsinghua University
Phone: na
Email: wu.yuxin@utah.edu
Research Interests
Chemical Engineering
Dongbin Xiu
Dongbin Xiu
Professor
Affiliate Department:
Mathematics
Phone: 801-585-6513
Email: dxiu@sci.utah.edu
Research Interests
Uncertainty quantification, stochastic modeling and algorithm design; data driven simulation sciences.

Staff

Name / Title Email Phone
Monica Kohler
Accountant
monica.kohler@utah.edu 801-581-8998
Dana W. Overacker
Engineer I
dana@chemeng.utah.edu 801-585-6022
Jeri S. Schryver
Administrative Manager
jeri@eng.utah.edu 801-581-8712
David A. Wagner
Senior Engineer
david.wagner@utah.edu 801-238-6661
Catrina W. Wilson
Executive Assistant
catrina.wilson@utah.edu 801-585-1233

Contact

Address   155 South 1452 East
Room 350
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone (801) 585-1233
Email icsewebmaster@utah.edu

Mission

The mission of ICSE is education through interdisciplinary research on high-temperature fuel utilization processes for energy generation, and associated environmental, health, policy, and performance issues.